Home

I haven’t posted anything in a while.  The reason being: I struggled through a pair of socks.  Meaning, I had to remake them twice due to small screw-ups and now I’m quite sure they aren’t going to fit me anyway (awaiting results from blocking)… the struggle is real.

On the plus side, I’ve finished my Wool & the Gang Mary sweater, it’s blocking away right now.  It fits and it’s beautiful   …more about that later!

I’ve been getting many e-mails from WATG promoting their new Jersey Be Good yarn, and I’m intrigued by this whole t-shirt yarn fad I keep hearing about.

Image

Wool & the Gang in Fluoro Pink $14.99

Image

Wool & the Gang in Playground Grey $11.99

This stuff comes in really cool colours at a reasonable price, but I kept wondering how easy it would be to make.  Can’t be that hard right?  After much searching I found the best tutorial from Creating Laura‘s blog.  To make a large ball she uses a huge sheet of bright pink jersey fabric, check it out!

ImageShe points out that:

“It was roughly 1.5 x 1.5 yards and it cost me less than $2, which is a total steal for yarn.”

How true right?  Why not make something cool out of a cheap piece of fabric.  It seems to be a great way to upcycle & reuse.

So then I got wondering if it’s possible to make this stuff from any old t-shirt.  I mean they do call it t-shirt yarn for a reason right?  The answer is a definite yes, you can make yarn out of pretty much any basic t-shirt.  Here’s a link to how to do it on Crafty Passion.  This is definitely on my bucket list of things to do this summer.

Now you might be asking (as I did) what on earth can you do with this stuff?  Turns out there are a lot of options!  Here are some of my findings (click for links):

Image

Custom stools from welke.nl

Image

Monolithos

Image

Crochet bowls from Luziapimpinella (where you can stash your wool!)

IMG_5404edit

DIY bracelet from V&Co

nunalab1

Nunalab designs

614

Rag Rug from Home Dzine

666

Pouf from Home Dzine

130727rahi6-kopio

Crocheted Pouf from Yalotar

 

-Featured image from alabamachanin – 

Leave a Reply

