Home

I wasn’t sure what to do with all of the beautiful Cascade Ultra Pima wool I bought this past summer at Purl Soho.  I had wanted to make the Lace Tunic by Brooke Nico that I’ve had my eye on since let’s see… Vogue Knitting’s Spring/Summer 2010 edition?  Can’t believe it’s been that long, and I’m still lusting after this thing.  Unfortunately, it takes an extreme amount of yardage, which I didn’t have.  Another day, for that one!

I’ve wanted a linen sweater like this one from Aritzia for a while now, so I thought I’d try a loose white tunic summer sweater.

AritziaI opted to make the Astrid linen tunic, Astrid cotton tunic, in my natural, undyed Pima with the idea that it would be a wispy summery little thing.  After testing gauge I decided that it would work out.  I always take one more important precaution: reading other comments on the project on Ravelry.  Luckily I stumbled upon KateBee‘s notes on her Astrid sweater, and not only did hers look nearly exactly like <<< said sweater, but she’d written really useful notes about the pattern.  She found out that the hem on this sweater is very, very wide.  Rolling with her advice, I casted on 70 stitches for each side and knit straight up (to make the size L).  The hem is still wide enough, and I’m grateful it’s not bigger.

The final product is a very hole-y, loose, raw-edged, slinky, hippie creation.  I knew it wouldn’t turn out like the original idea, since I was making it with a cotton yarn, but I couldn’t be happier with it, and the yarn was beautiful to knit with.  I took the liberty to add fringe to the bottom, and I can’t help but think that it could only get better with more…  Can’t wait to wear it to the beach this summer!

IMG_1424    IMG_1423IMG_1425 IMG_1427IMG_1418 IMG_1421 IMG_1417

4 thoughts on “Ain’t nothing but a fringe party

Leave a Reply

