Home

This was an on-the-go project made on my New York trip, mostly on the plane.  The idea was brewed when I fell in love with this Malabrigo Rios wool at Beehive Wool Shop (heaven) which comes in the most beautiful colour palette.  After deliberating for ever, I chose out a colour called “plomo” which is a greyish purple wool.   It’s a 100% merino worsted 10 ply, and it is heavenly.  I had never knitwith Malabrigo, but there’s a first time for everything and this won’t be the last.

Malabrigo Rios

I had been looking for a wool for the Yellow Brick Cold Cowl pattern, so this seemed perfect.  The pattern is knit back and forth, 1/2 in garter stitch, 1/2 in basketweave, then seamed together at the ends.   I was really happy with the wool for this project, the colour variations showed up prominently in the pattern, especially in the basketweave.  After blocking the scarf, I can wrap it three times around my neck… am so happy with it!

Image

Image

Image

Image

5 thoughts on “Malabrigo-a-go-go!

  1. so i ordered the same yarn (not the same colorway, was out of stock everywhere :() and knit about 25 inches in the basketweave pattern. i noticed it looks like you stretched the garter stitch section quite a bit during blocking? do you remember your pre- and post-blocking scarf measurements? i’m thinking of adding an inch or two or basketweave and reducing the garter stitch section.

  2. Hi Ontae,
    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you, I’ve been away so I couldn’t measure the scarf.

    The garter stitch grew significantly from 24″ to 40″, but I purposefully stretched it while blocking. The total circumference of the scarf is about 72″.

    Hope this helps. What colour are you doing? I’d love to see it 🙂

Leave a Reply

