Home

Herringbone CowlShort Row Crop Sweater

I recently went to NYC and was very excited to visit the SoHo area.

As well as good eats & shopping, I knew that Purl SoHo resided there… a knitting store that I’ve been following for a while now because of their non-extremely-dated patterns on their blog the Purl Bee.

Especially recently, I’ve made quite a few projects based on their free online patterns, including a Herringbone Cowl and the Short Row Crop Sweater.

I made the pilgrimage to 459 Broome St to visit their store, and it was absolute knitter’s heaven in there.  The store was mostly knitting related, but also carried a lot of sewing notions, including my very favourite… Liberty of London fabrics.  Needless to say, I spent at least an hour in there and came out with quite the inventory and was surprised to say it was my most expensive excursion in New York.

I bought 6 skeins of Cascade Yarns Ultra Pima, an 100% cotton yarn, with the idea of making an open knit summer sweater.

Ultra Pima

As well as 4 skeins of Madelinetosh Merino Light, an 100% superwash merino wool in “Whiskers” and the larger-than-life neon “Edison Bulb” for a colourblock sweater.
Madelinetosh Merino Light

IMG_2260 DSC_0797 IMG_2261 DSC_0800 IMG_2255

Leave a Reply

